The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man

The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man

In this classic novel from the Harlem Renaissance, a biracial musician living in the Jim Crow era chooses to pass as white and deals with the consequences. First published in 1912, The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man is the story of an unnamed, light-skinned, biracial narrator born in a small Georgia town during the years following the Civil War. He knows nothing about race—until he and his Black mother move to Connecticut and an episode at his school forces her to explain things to him. As the narrator grows up, he pursues a higher education and begins traveling to cities like New York and Paris. He develops desires and ambitions, but everything changes when he returns to the South and witnesses the lynching of a Black man. The horror of the scene persuades him to live as white, but this decision comes at a cost . . . The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man covered issues and themes not usually seen in the literature of its day. It offered a critical examination of race in society—as well as a look into Black society most white readers were unfamiliar with at the time. Today, the novel is just as moving as when it was originally published, an excellent choice for readers of Charles W. Chesnutt’s The House Behind the Cedars and Nella Larsen’s Passing.

Read More

Author
Publisher Open Road Media
Release Date
ISBN 1504067894
Pages 132 pages
Rating 4/5 (98 users)

More Books:

The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 132
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-31 - Publisher: Open Road Media

In this classic novel from the Harlem Renaissance, a biracial musician living in the Jim Crow era chooses to pass as white and deals with the consequences. Firs
The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-01-20 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

James Weldon Johnson’s The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man is a powerful, trailblazing novel that exposes the intricate relationship between race and class
The Autobiography of an Ex-colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 226
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: African American men
Type: BOOK - Published: 1912 - Publisher: Binker North

The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man (1912/1927) by James Weldon Johnson is the fictional account of a young biracial man, referred to only as the "Ex-Colored
New Perspectives on James Weldon Johnson's
Language: en
Pages: 260
Authors: Noelle Morrissette
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-07-15 - Publisher: University of Georgia Press

James Weldon Johnson (1871–1938) exemplified the ideal of the American public intellectual as a writer, educator, songwriter, diplomat, key figure of the Harl
The Autobiography of an Ex-coloured Man
Language: en
Pages: 418
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: African Americans
Type: BOOK - Published: 1966 - Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Johnson
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-05-11 - Publisher:

The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 0
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-10-13 - Publisher: National Geographic Books

First published anonymously in 1912, The Autobiography of an Ex- Colored Man has electrified readers ever since with its stark portrayal of the color line in Am
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance: A-J
Language: en
Pages: 696
Authors: Cary D. Wintz
Categories: African American arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: Taylor & Francis

From the music of Louis Armstrong to the portraits by Beauford Delaney, the writings of Langston Hughes to the debut of the musical Show Boat, the Harlem Renais
A Spectacular Secret
Language: en
Pages: 429
Authors: Jacqueline Goldsby
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-08-15 - Publisher: University of Chicago Press

Publisher Description
The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 152
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-12-13 - Publisher: Lindhardt og Ringhof

A fictional tale set in America at the turn of the 20th century, ‘The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man’ tells the story of a mixed-race man whose lighter