The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man

The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man

In this classic novel from the Harlem Renaissance, a biracial musician living in the Jim Crow era chooses to pass as white and deals with the consequences. First published in 1912, The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man is the story of an unnamed, light-skinned, biracial narrator born in a small Georgia town during the years following the Civil War. He knows nothing about race—until he and his Black mother move to Connecticut and an episode at his school forces her to explain things to him. As the narrator grows up, he pursues a higher education and begins traveling to cities like New York and Paris. He develops desires and ambitions, but everything changes when he returns to the South and witnesses the lynching of a Black man. The horror of the scene persuades him to live as white, but this decision comes at a cost . . . The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man covered issues and themes not usually seen in the literature of its day. It offered a critical examination of race in society—as well as a look into Black society most white readers were unfamiliar with at the time. Today, the novel is just as moving as when it was originally published, an excellent choice for readers of Charles W. Chesnutt’s The House Behind the Cedars and Nella Larsen’s Passing.

Read More

Author
Publisher Open Road Media
Release Date
ISBN 1504067894
Pages 134 pages
Rating 4/5 (98 users)

More Books:

The Autobiography of an Ex–Colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 134
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-31 - Publisher: Open Road Media

In this classic novel from the Harlem Renaissance, a biracial musician living in the Jim Crow era chooses to pass as white and deals with the consequences. Firs
The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990-02-01 - Publisher: Penguin

Originally published in 1912, this novel was one of the first to present a frank picture of being black in America Masked in the tradition of the literary confe
The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-01-20 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

James Weldon Johnson’s The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man is a powerful, trailblazing novel that exposes the intricate relationship between race and class
The Autobiography of an Ex-coloured Man
Language: en
Pages: 211
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: African American men
Type: BOOK - Published: 1951 - Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

New Perspectives on James Weldon Johnson's
Language: en
Pages: 260
Authors: Noelle Morrissette
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-07-15 - Publisher: University of Georgia Press

James Weldon Johnson (1871–1938) exemplified the ideal of the American public intellectual as a writer, educator, songwriter, diplomat, key figure of the Harl
The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-10-13 - Publisher: Library of America

First published anonymously in 1912, The Autobiography of an Ex- Colored Man has electrified readers ever since with its stark portrayal of the color line in Am
A Spectacular Secret
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Jacqueline Goldsby
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-09-15 - Publisher: University of Chicago Press

This incisive study takes on one of the grimmest secrets in America's national life—the history of lynching and, more generally, the public punishment of Afri
The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man (International Student Edition) (Norton Critical Editions)
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: James Weldon Johnson
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-04-04 - Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

The Norton Critical Edition of this influential Harlem Renaissance novel includes related materials available in no other edition. Known only as the “Ex-Color
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance: A-J
Language: en
Pages: 1341
Authors: Cary D. Wintz
Categories: HISTORY
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: Taylor & Francis

An interdisciplinary look at the Harlem Renaissance, it includes essays on the principal participants, those who defined the political, intellectual and cultura
Passing Novels in the Harlem Renaissance
Language: en
Pages: 214
Authors: Mar Gallego
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003 - Publisher: LIT Verlag Münster

This book offers an insightful study of the significance of passing novels for the literary and intellectual debate of the Harlem Renaissance. Author Mar Galleg