Old Bones Lie

Old Bones Lie

DI Clare Mackay is about to face a test of her loyalty... When a report comes in that a van containing two prison officers and a convicted jewel thief is missing, the police in St Andrews work quickly to locate the vehicle. Their efforts prove in vain when no trace is found and they realise the wives of both officers also appear to have left the area. Is this a case of corrupt guards springing a felon, or innocent people caught in the crossfire? DI Clare Mackay leads the team but has to do without her right hand man; DS Chris West is a cousin to one of the missing prison officers and must not be involved in the case. With a new sergeant at her side plus a previously unencountered DCI, Clare’s people skills are pushed to the limit. Especially once she realises her boss is keeping her on the sidelines. Just what is it that Clare doesn’t know? And if she has to choose between keeping secrets from a friend, or letting slip something that could see a culprit go free, which path will she take? A compelling addition to the bestselling series by a much-loved Scottish crime author, perfect for fans of Caro Ramsay, Lin Anderson and Alex Gray. Praise for Old Bones Lie ‘Old Bones Lie is a fine example of the police procedural. Tightly plotted, cogently told with an ensemble of characters following the clues and navigating various twists like the professionals they are to reach a solution that is neither pat nor unbelievable. A hugely enjoyable read indeed.’ Douglas Skelton, author of An Honourable Thief ‘It’s impossible to escape Marion’s grip on you in this captivating, compelling hunt for lost souls, buried truth and a heartless killer.’ Morgan Cry, author of Six Wounds ‘This book has a gripping storyline full of plot twists. A must read book that will keep you in suspense right to the end!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review ‘Another brilliant instalment to the DI Clare Mackay series. I couldn't stop reading. Plenty of twists and turns along the way, and just when you think you have it figured - you don't!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review ‘I was hooked right from the prologue. This book is fast paced... and there was also character development. It was full of twists and turns and not your average crime. Definitely one of my favourite series of books!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review ‘I loved the protagonist Clare and her team of associates but I loved the plot most of all. The book had enough twists and turns to keep me awake till late.’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

Read More

Author
Publisher Canelo
Release Date
ISBN 180032104X
Pages 280 pages
Rating 4/5 (45 users)

More Books:

Old Bones Lie
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Marion Todd
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-07-07 - Publisher: Canelo

DI Clare Mackay is about to face a test of her loyalty... When a report comes in that a van containing two prison officers and a convicted jewel thief is missin
Where Old Bones Lie (Mitchell & Markby 5)
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Ann Granger
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-12-09 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A tangle of conflicting clues, suspects and possible witnesses... Meredith Mitchell is involved in yet another murder case with Cotswold Chief Inspector Markby
Where Old Bones Lie
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Ann Granger
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1995 - Publisher:

Meredith Mitchell once again becomes involved in murder when archaeologist Ursula Gretton asks her to investigate--despite the police department's dismissal of
Music in the Old Bones
Language: en
Pages: 248
Authors: Janet Howe Gaines
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 1999 - Publisher: SIU Press

"Music in the Old Bones is a guide to the eternal Jezebel story. The first part of this illustrated study is a detailed analysis that explores the biblical tale
Lie Well, My Immortal
Language: en
Pages: 268
Authors: Brynn Hardeman
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency

When bones and a skull are found in the earth, a dedicated team of detectives try to fill in the gaps and determine what the bones mean. Set in 2014 in South Af
The Good Girl & The Marriage Lie
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Mary Kubica
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-05-01 - Publisher: MIRA

Read the two unforgettable thrillers you won’t be able to put down: THE GOOD GIRL by New York Times bestselling author Mary Kubica (originally published in 20
That Way Murder Lies (Mitchell & Markby 15)
Language: en
Pages: 237
Authors: Ann Granger
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-04-01 - Publisher: Hachette UK

A chilling secret from the past leads to a violent murder in the present... Mitchell and Markby must put their wedding plans on hold when an old friend seeks th
The Complete Works of Edgar Wallace
Language: en
Pages: 5100
Authors: Edgar Wallace
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-07-20 - Publisher: e-artnow

This carefully crafted ebook: "The Complete Works of Edgar Wallace" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. Contents: Ed
Again Sanders
Language: en
Pages: 130
Authors: Edgar Wallace
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-11-09 - Publisher: Good Press

"Again Sanders" by Edgar Wallace. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics &
Delphi Complete Works of Edgar Wallace (Illustrated)
Language: en
Pages: 19978
Authors: Edgar Wallace
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-02-18 - Publisher: Delphi Classics

One of the most prolific writers of the twentieth century, Edgar Wallace was an immensely popular author, who created exciting thrillers spiced with tales of tr